The Writer Who Hated Writing

writing

When I was in 7th grade, I dreaded when my English teacher would give the class a creative writing assignment. We could have been told to create our own short story or write a play. Anything that involved me making up a story in my head, I shied away from it. I recall one particular time when our course unit was on poetry and for a class exercise, we had to write a short poem. Mine was called, “I Hate Poetry.” So how did someone like me who hated writing get the crazy idea to write a fantasy book?

Well, growing up, art was always my forte. Just give me a pencil, a paintbrush, charcoal, or pastels and I’ll go into my own little world. Creativity came easily to me when it involved visual art but with writing? Not so much, or so I thought. While I was attending college, the majority of my homework were essays. I really had no choice but to get used to the idea that I would have to do nothing but writing assignments for at least two to three years of my college life, especially since I was Communications major. Go figure. However, I  began to enjoy writing essays because they were on subjects that I was interested in researching more about. My writing skills sharpened to the point where one of my professor’s took notice and asked me to do a research assignment for a semester that would be published in her textbook. After completing that assignment (which was 50 pages long I might add), my confidence in my writing ability continued to grow. I started writing articles and blog posts for various internships and I even wrote for my college’s online newspaper.

The initial idea to write a book came about when I was interning for a publishing company as a Social Media Intern. I got to experience the publishing process first hand, interact with first-time authors and I took great pride in seeing my articles posted on the company’s blog every week, but the big question was, what in the world was I going to write a book about? Because art was my first love, my mom suggested that I write a children’s book so I could incorporate writing with drawing. Well, it was more like she persistently insisted on a constant basis that I write a children’s book. My mom’s confidence in me was somewhat intense. So one day, I sat down at my computer, opened a new Word document and just started typing away, but instead of writing about 15 to 20 pages which is the typical length for a children’s book, the pages slowly turned into 25 pages, then 30 pages and it just kept increasing as more ideas flowed through my head. I realized that this manuscript shifted from a children’s book into a novel in a matter of days. I’m a month and a half into my writing journey and I am at 70 pages in counting with still a ways to go.

Four years ago, a book, let alone a novel wouldn’t have even been on my list of things I planned to accomplish in my life but it’s amazing to see how what I originally thought to be a silly, insurmountable idea has turned into a significant passion of mine. Being a writer often goes into the same stereotypical box with other creative fields as the “starving artist” cliché. Writing a book may seem bizarre and far-fetched to others, maybe even to yourself. But as author J.K. Rolling said, “Anything’s possible if you’ve got enough nerve.” If writing a book is all you can eat, sleep, think and dream about then what are you waiting for? Write the darn thing!

One thought on “The Writer Who Hated Writing

  1. Very, very interesting. Strangly, i was the same way in school. My escape from class was doodling all over my book, and blank pages in my notebook. Art makes me feel good lol. I think when you’re young, things like history, and writing are far from the things you actually want to do or think about when your a kid. You learn to appreciate it when you become an adult.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

