Surprise Plot Twist: My Hard Drive Crashed!

computer crash.gif(How I’m currently feeling…)

One of the worst things that can happen to anyone, especially a writer is for their hard drive to random crash without any prior warning. The situation can be made worse if you did NOT back up your files on a regular basis (that would be moi -_-).

So does that mean that I lost all my files, including my book that I have been working hard on for the past two months? Pretty much, except I thankfully downloaded a copy of my book and some of my documents to Dropbox. However, I have written a chapter or two and have done some editing since I saved a separate copy and as a result I will have to write that chapter and a half all over again, but I’m grateful that I saved most of what I typed.

So what exactly happened on that unfaithful day of Friday, December 4, 2015? Well, I woke up and turned on my computer and noticed the screen stayed black for over thirty minutes. After restarting it for the 5th or 6th time that morning, I decided to do a system diagnosis which I was only able to access by pressing the escape key. The test revealed that that the “HardDrive Short DST Check” failed. I called HP and they basically told me that my hard drive has indeed failed. Now mind you, I’ve only had my laptop for two years and I read that hard drives normally last for a minimum of four. So for the last 48 hours I have been trying to bypass the lock screen so I can get to my desktop and some kind of way back up some of my documents. I have been unsuccessful up until this point on account of my computer is really slow and most of the time won’t load past the lock screen.

What is the lesson of this story? Back up your files on a regular basis and invest in a reliable computer.

My current quest is to take my computer to a repair shop to see if they can recover any of my files and to find a new computer asap (I’m not really interested in getting a new hard drive when the one I had was supposedly a brand new one and crashed after only two years). I originally had a MacBook Air but the amount of space on that thing was a joke. I’ve always hated computers that have windows on them because I have gone through issues of it not lasting longer than two or three years before (I am currently typing this on a 4 year old iMac, get my point?). I would like to purchase a MacBook Pro but the thought of paying two grand for a  15′ laptop makes me cringe but they are supposedly the “industry standard” for graphic design which I am going to school in January for (as you can see, I’m also in a time crunch).

What am I going to do now? Try my best to remember the last chapter that I typed in my manuscript and work on that.

I also just finished my current read, High School Bites: The Lucy Chronicles so I will be doing a review on that which will be posted probably tomorrow. Keep an eye out for that!

Night out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

